The Hype That Was Hardhome

~Lady Shelly~

We are rapidly approaching the end of season 5 of Game of Thrones and up until this week, it has been pretty uneventful so I figured we were in store for a good episode and “Hardhome” didn’t disappoint!

Cersei

Cersei Cersei is still fighting tooth and nail and I’d expect nothing less than that from a Lioness from the Rock. I think her story will follow the books pretty closely based on the info that we’ve heard and the pics on set so I definitely don’t want to spoil for any of our show only fans! Can’t wait to see what happens next week!

Sansa and Theon/ Ramsay and Roose

Sansa-and-Theon-or-Reek-or-whatever-in-Winterfell-Official-HBO

Can someone please get Alfie Allen his Emmy already?! I mean damn! Every week Alfie is just killing it! He has really carried the Northern story-line. Ok, so the big news here is that he told Sansa about Bran and Rickon and that is HUGE. This news puts Sansa in a totally different frame of mind now. Before coming back to Winterfell, Sansa believed herself to be the only living member of House Stark. Now that Sansa knows the truth, will she become even more determined to escape from Ramsay? I think so. This story-line has the the most deviation from the books, so it’s hard to tell where it’s going, but I definitely think that Sansa is going to try to find her  brothers. I gotta say, I laughed really hard when Ramsay said he only needed “20 good men” to defeat Stannis in battle. Oh, you sweet summer child. Clearly Ramsay has let all that flaying get to his head since he is so confident in his abilities to defeat Stannis.

Arya

tumblr_np8ve3FRZt1unft2fo1_540

I am really liking Arya’s story so far this season. It started a little slowly, but watching her progress from Arya of House Stark to Cat of the Canals has been pretty cool. Her story in Braavos was one of my favorite parts of A Feast for Crows so I was looking forward watching it unfold on screen. The Thin Man is in for a treat next week I think! I’m still not sold on Jaqen being in the Kindly Man role, but he has done a good job so far.

Dany/Tyrion/Jorah

556bfd914ae56e586e4576da_GOT508_100814_HS_DSC_9595[1]

How many times will Jorah be exiled in this tv series? I mean come on bro, sometimes you just gotta know when to quit, you know? I liked the initial conversation between Dany and Tyrion and the suggestions that he made to her in regards to Jorah and ruling in general. The point about the small folk was spot on! So we finally got the “break the wheel” speech that Sarah has been making fun of all season.

“Lannister, Baratheon, Stark, Tyrell, they’re all just spokes on a wheel. This one’s on top and that one’s on top and on and on it spins, crushing those on the ground. We’re not going to stop the wheel. I’m going to break the wheel.”

As I was watching the second time, I thought of something: why didn’t Dany or Tyrion mention House Martell? Is it because  the show runners are going to somehow follow the Targaryen/Martell alliance that we see in the books between Arianne and fAegon? Is it because Dorne is relatively isolated and doesn’t concern itself much with the politics of King’s Landing? Or is it because Daenerys assumes that House Martell (and all of Dorne) will ally themselves with her because of their former alliance with Rhaegar during Robert’s Rebellion? I mean surely Dany knows of House Martell and House Targaryen’s previous alliances during times of war, right? I don’t really know where they are going with this, but I’m curious to see.

And now for the most important part of the episode…the bae that was promised

Jon/The Wall 

Jon ventures to Hardhome with Tormund and members of the Night’s Watch to ally themselves with the Free Folk and to allow them passage through the Wall in exchange for help fighting the Others/White Walkers. Also, while we are at it let’s all clarify a little something thanks to my good friend Fraser:

These are the Others

https://twitter.com/fraser_henry_/status/605500001008160768

These are the wights

https://twitter.com/fraser_henry_/status/605500125486706689

Thanks Fraser!

Ok, back to the recap..let’s start by giving Tormund a big round of applause after just beating the crap out of the Lord of Bones AKA Rattleshirt. Book readers know his fate in the books, and while I like it (a lot) I LOVED Tormund just absolutely destroying him.

game-of-thrones-bonk

Seriously, don’t fuck with Tormund Giantsbane….

Now, to break down this battle on my humble little blog would not do it justice so I leave that to much more experienced sites like Watchers on the Wall. But here are my top things I liked a bout Hardhome:

Wun Wun! Seven Hells Wun Wun was great! Just straight up stomping people into the ground. I loved it

4105d8cd62b84601c68030892cc2ed8b

Birgitte Hjort Sørensen as the “wildling cheiftaness” who just absolutely kicked so much ass. How awesome was it to get another strong, bad ass female character after Ygritte died? Too bad she died too. I kinda knew she was a goner as soon as she kissed her kids goodbye in the boat. We all know that D&D cannot allow a female character to survive that is both caring and a bad ass!

Karsi-at-Hardhome-Official-HBO

Jon is Azor Ahai. It’s basically been confirmed in my mind since I read A Dance with Dragons but it’s been solidified after seeing this week’s epidsode. I pretty much lost my mind when Longclaw didn’t shatter during Jon’s fight with the Other (Look for a future post from Fraser about Jon Snow).

556bb676378caf0d670e4d50_jon-snow-white-walker

So what didn’t I like?

The Thenns aren’t the assholes that they are portrayed as on the show. The Thenns are actually the most decent of the Free Folk with laws and titles and such. I don’t like how they made them cannibals and douches but I guess there has to a bad guy, right?

LobodaCropped_(Hardhome)

No Ghost. Why is Jon leaving Ghost behind? Jon and Ghost are one!!!! I really think that Ghost would have kicked some serious ass. Remember how clutch he was during “Watchers on the Wall”??

tumblr_lky67nJDX11qbtguuo1_500The Night’s King. I’m sorry. I know I am in the small minority when it comes to this. I just think he looks like a blue Darth Maul. He looks douchy to me. And totally not intimidating at all.

game-of-thrones-ban-2

So there you have it, my short recap of the episode! Next week is sure to be intense since it’s episode 9 and is historically the “OH SHIT” episode of the season. What did you think of the episode?

Leave a Reply

